Academic Advisement

Academic Advisement is available throughout the Fall and Spring semesters. Review the list of Communication Design academic advisors. To request an appointment during their listed advisement times, email them your City Tech email address. Allow 24 – 48 hours for a response. Include the following information:

  1. Full Name
  2. Empl ID number
  3. The purpose of the academic advising session

General questions can be emailed to the Department

Prepare for your virtual meeting with your Faculty Advisor:

  • have easy access to your current degree audit and past advisement worksheets
  • complete a “My Academic Career Planner” for the next two semesters
  • consider questions about course completion/progression and career opportunities/advancement
  • review the COMD Advisement Sheets for course listing unique to Communication Design students

Starting in Fall 2021, COMD students will have dedicated advisors who will become their point of contact for advisement and career updates. (if you haven’t been provided a COMD advisor, please get in touch with the department via email.)

Full time Faculty AvailabilityAdjunct Faculty Availability (COMING SOON)
Advisor / EmailAvailabilityLocation(s)

Daniel Wong

Department Chair, Professor
10am - 4pmin-person/virtual, by appointment. Please email

Mary Ann Biehl

Please note:
No office hours
Wed. May 17.

Office Hours
Thursday, May 18
2:30 to 4:30
in-person P121

Lloyd Carr

Associate Professor
Namm 1125

Douglas Davis



George Garrastegui Jr.

Assistant Professor

Pearl 123 Click for Appt.

Anita Giraldo

Associate Professor
or Via appt.
Namm 1111

Maria Giuliani

Tuesdays & Thursdays
6pm to 7pm
Pearl 114

Tanya Goetz

Assistant Professor
Thursdays 2 to 4 PMPearl 123 or Zoom via appointment
Internship Coordinator

M. Genevieve Hitchings

Associate Professor

Mondays 12:30-2:30pmNamm 1127

Josh Kapusinski

Assistant Professor
Thursdays 4:30-5:30pmNamm 1125

George Larkins

Assistant Professor
Namm 1127

John McVicker

Associate Professor

Robin Michals


Eli Neugeboren

Associate Professor
Thursdays 10:30-12:30pmNamm 1127

Jenna Spevack


Sara Woolley

Assistant Professor
Namm 1126 or ZOOM via Appt.

Click here for Appt

Faculty and Staff in the Department of Communication Design specialize in various areas of the design field:

Daniel Wong, Chair: Professor / Web Site Development/Graphic Design

MaryAnn Biehl, Professor / Graphic Design

Lloyd Carr, Associate Professor / Graphic Design Production

Douglas Davis, Professor  / Advertising/Art Direction

George Garrastegui Jr., Assistant Professor  / Graphic Design, Advertising/Art Direction

Anita Giraldo, Associate Professor / Graphics Design, Photography

Maria Giuliani, Professor  / Typography /Graphic Design

Tanya Goetz, Assistant Professor  / Graphic Design Production/ Internship Coordinator

M. Genevieve Hitchings, Associate Professor / Graphic Design

Josh Kapusinski, Assistant Professor / Motion Graphics/Video Production

George Larkins, Assistant Professor / Photography/Motion Graphics/Video Production

John McVicker, Associate Professor / Advertising/Art Direction

Robin Michals, Professor / Photography

Eli Neugeboren, Associate Professor / Illustration/Photo Retouching

Jenna Spevack, Professor  / Graphic Design; Web Site Development

Sara Woolley, Assistant Professor  / Illustration

Senior CLT: Luis Vasquez
Senior CLT: Michael Cannetti: Motion Graphics
CUNY COMD Office Staff: Sharmaine Bernard Hill
Print this page