Courses, Projects, and Clubs

Shared Cloning (faculty only)

If you’re looking for help cloning your own course, you can review our help document on Cloning a Course. Shared cloning is a separate functionality that can be enabled to allow other faculty to clone your course.

Once enabled, other faculty will be able to clone your course, creating an exact copy of an existing course, keeping all content you created or uploaded, allowing them to reuse, remix, transform, and build upon the material in this course. Cloned versions of the course will include a list of credits on the Course Profile and in the Site sidebar with attribution to you and your course. If you created this Course as a clone of another faculty member’s Course, that Course and the Course’s author, as well as all previous iterations, will be included in the credits list as well.

In addition, only content created by the admin will be cloned, so any posts, media, docs, or discussion content created by students will not be cloned. The course avatar, course settings, and site settings will all remain the same, although you can change anything as necessary.

Shared cloning can be enabled for any course, although it should be especially useful for Open Educational Resource (OER) sites and Course Coordination sites.

Enabling shared cloning of your Course

1. For an existing course, go to the Profile of the Course for which you want to enable shared cloning. Choose Settings in the right-hand menu and then Settings again. Check the box “Enabled shared cloning.”

You can also enable shared cloning when you create a new course.  You will find the “Enable shared cloning” box beneath the Course Description.

Existing Course Settings:

shared cloning step 1

New Course Creation:

shared cloning step 2

2. Once enabled, other faculty will be able to clone your course, allowing them to reuse, remix, transform, and build upon the material in this course. Cloned versions of the course will include attribution to original course authors and courses in a list of “Credits” on the Course Profile and in the Site sidebar.

Cloning a Course with Shared Cloning

1. You can clone a course that has enabled shared cloning from either the Course Profile or Site. To begin cloning, be sure you’re logged in to the OpenLab, and go to the Course Profile or Site of the Course you would like to clone.

2. Click the button labelled Clone this Course beneath the avatar on the Course Profile. Or, if you’re on the Course Site, you can click the Clone this Course link in the sidebar on the Course Site.

shared cloning step 3 clone this course button

shared cloning step 4

3. The steps in the cloning process are the same as would be for cloning your own Course.  Visit the help document on Cloning a Course if you need assistance with these steps.

4. Once the course is cloned, you will be the admin of the new cloned course, and the faculty member(s) who contributed previous versions of the course will be listed on the Credits line on the Course Profile and in the Site widget in the sidebar.

Cloned course profile with previous faculty author listed in Credits

Tags: