Prof Ashley Valera | D010 | Fall 2023

Discussion: Introductions

Add a comment to this post introducing yourself to the class. You could include your academic interests, why you chose your major, what you enjoy reading, listening to, watching, and doing in your spare time, or anything else you want to share (include your pronouns, if you wish). Example:

My name is Ashley and my pronouns are she/her. I currently live in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn. I was a illustration major when I went to City Tech. I’ve just read “If You Could See the Sun” by Ann Liang and currently watching season 2 of “The Bear”. I like to crochet and play Dungeons and Dragons in my spare time!

Before next class, please add your introduction and read the comments.

Get to know your classmates! Reply to one of your classmates’ comments. Do you have something in common? Did you learn something? Be kind.


  1. Paola

    Hello my name is Paola and I live in Queens, I’m 18 years old and a history fanatic and art junkie. I am a communication Design major and an avid learner who constantly wants to try new things and learn more beyond what I learned in an art high school.

  2. Alberto Miller

    Hi, my name is Alberto Miller I am an 18 year old self taught artist who lives in Brooklyn and joined city tech to expand on my education and be able to learn 2d and 3d animation visual effects and digital illustrations and my major is Communications and design

  3. keiondi

    Hello! My name is Keiondi Curtis, pronouns She/Her 🙂 I live in Queens. I really enjoy drawing and creating art of my interests (tv shows, original characters, etc.) In my free time I like to play rhythm games!

  4. johanna francisco

    Hey everyone, my name is Johanna. I live in Manhattan. I chose this major because I love to draw and I have been told by many of my family members that I’m very creative so I felt that this major was perfect for me. I love playing video games or puzzles games and I hope to make some new friends and get to know people:)

  5. Zeta

    Hello, my name is Ze and my pronouns are he/him. I live in the middle of Chinatown in Manhattan. I am a Communication Design major and I’m interested in graphic design, UX/UI design, logo making, and anything that has anything to do with graphics and designing; that’s why I chose my major, it seemed like a perfect fit. I love music and would make more music if I knew what to do, I love to play Warframe and other games, and I watch a lot of cooking videos because I love making new foods; currently my new obsession is making a smoothie with every meal. I am looking forward to working with everyone.

  6. mayli

    Hey everybody. I’m mayli, a transfer student from Kingsborough Community College. Obtained my associates for Mass Communication. After my break off I’ve realized design is more my calling . I love doodling in my notebooks, visual art, and movies. The details that goes into movies and shows. Wether it’s the logo on a soda can to the posters hanging in the background.I’ve got an eye for details. When I’m not in school I love to roller skate around the city and discovering new places to stuff my face after. Hope to have a great year with everyone. 

  7. Mehdi S.

    Hello. The name is Mehdi S. but some people call me Mars, a nickname of sorts that’s stuck around for quite some time. Keeping this short and simple, I’m here to do what’s to be done, and improve my overall skills as a designer and artist. Honestly, I’m just going with the flow. That’s that.

  8. Hally

    Hi, my name is Hally! I’m from Queens and I turn 18 in a week and a half. I spend most of my time creating, brainstorming, watching shows or true crime documentaries. My favorite shows include Breaking Bad, Black Mirror and Monster. I like to go out to explore and skate in my free time. I love listening to music, I’m constantly looking for new music and I’m extremely open to all types of genres. Occasionally, I’ll play video games with my friends when we’re all free. I’m really interested in the UX/UI design job field, but as a hobby I enjoy using all types of mediums to express my ideas. I have 2 sisters and 3 pets, 2 of which are dogs and a turtle.

  9. Gesner Jones III

    Hello Professor, it is with immense pleasure that I was able to meet you in class. Since we will get to know each other for a complete semester, I want to tell you who I am. For starters, my name is Gesner Jones III, and I am a Technology Youth Apprentice at Accenture. Now you may be curious to what exactly that is well allow me to inform you, the youth apprenticeship program is a program was made for high school students to join corporate America and begin planning their journey into the real world there are many different company’s like Chase, Amazon, MasterCard and EY that have taken in a few of my friends as apprentices but to really provide you information about me my title Is a software application developer at Accenture and New York Citys Employee Retirement System (NYCERS) I’ve also done things in the broadcasting field where I have been given over seven teen thousand dollars to film a promotional advertisement and then following that had another promotional advertisement be made about me

  10. Jackie

    Hi everyone, my name is Jacqueline but I prefer Jackie. I live in Washington Heights, I enjoy watching movies on the weekend with my sisters and my favorite time of the year is fall and winter.