International Standardization Organization

International Standardization Organization (ISO).
The ISO develops and publish International Standards. Some of the standards it publishes are;
ISO 9000 Quality management
ISO 14000 Environmental management
ISO 3166 Country codes
ISO 26000 Social responsibility
ISO 50001 Energy management
ISO 31000 Risk management
ISO 22000 Food safety management
ISO 4217 Currency codes
ISO 639 Language codes
The ISO is the world’s largest developer of voluntary International Standards. These standards give state of the art specifications for products, services and good practice, helping to make industry more efficient and effective. The ISO is an independent, non-governmental organization founded in 1947 with its Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland and is made up of members from the national standards bodies of 164 countries. The ISO have published over 19 500 International Standards covering almost all aspects of technology and business.
in 1946, delegates from 25 countries met at the Institute of Civil Engineers in London and decided to create a new international organization ‘to facilitate the international coordination and unification of industrial standards’. In February 1947 the new organization, the ISO, began its operations officially.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *