HMGT 1101 – Perspectives in Hospitality Management – FA15

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Reflection

Arthesa
    Participant

Hi, my name is Arthesa Portorreal, reflecting on who I am as a student I will say I am a very smart, witty, ambitious girl that still has a lot of learning and improving to do. As a student I understand that in order for me to get to where I want to be in life I have to sacrifice myself during a short amount of time if I really want to be successful and enjoy the rest of my life. One of my downfalls is that I change my mind too much as to where I want to direct my future towards, even now I’m still sometimes unsure in what career path I want to walk down through. Some days I want to get into public relations and others I feel like I should think of the bigger picture and just do hospitality management for the sake of my future. Another downfall is that I’m a person who isn’t sure of themselves in certain aspects. I feel as if sometimes I’m in school because is the norm and at the end of the road I’m going to be left with nothing to show for.
    My goals for this semester is to have more control of my time and I can get things done in time, also another goal I have set myself for this semester is to end it with a 3.0 and above. By the end of this semester I also hope I realize what it is that I want to do for the rest of my life and be content with that choice, depending on that choice I will also make the decision if I want to stay in City Tech and pursue hospitality management or if I want to transfer to another school to do public relations. So far my academic experience has been good afar from knowing what I want to do at the end of this ride. Being that I am a transfer student from SUNY Delhi, the experience here is very different I was used to things being one way and now everything is much different. I hope that with time I will get comfortable and excel during my time being here.