Prof. Westengard | O628 | Fall 2022

Amanda Hasandjekaj


My name is Amanda Hasandjekaj. My pronouns are she'her. I hope to become a nurse. One of my biggest dreams is to travel the world one day. I especially want to travel to Europe very badly. I have been to Europe many times. I am Albanian and my family and I try to go back home to Albania and Montenegro every summer or every other summer. However, I have yet to see any other countries, unfortunately. I could lie and say I've been to Germany and Italy, but only to the airports I've never left, I'm afraid. I actually just got back from Europe about a week ago so I am still trying to adjust back to reality in New York. Although I adore my time back in the motherland, I am happy to be home in America again. I love biking, reading, and playing soccer. I enjoy doing these so much because they are my escape from reality for a little while. I am currently learning how to play the guitar which has been fun and therapeutic, as is my reading and biking. I love plants and can't seem to get enough of them. I really like the earth tones in my bedroom. The plants give such a comfy, warm, homey feeling to my room. I also like the responsibility. I work in a restaurant as a waitress and I enjoy communicating with customers all day and meeting new people. It's a great experience! I think "Gothic" is a specific aesthetic. "Gothic" reminds me of suffering, gloominess, haunting, and paranormal activity. My favorite subject has always been English and I am very interested and excited to see what "Gothic Literature and Visual Culture" has in store.

1 Comment

  1. Laura Westengard

    Hi Amanda, it is good to meet you! I’m glad to hear that you enjoy English, and I’m wondering if you also enjoy “suffering, gloominess, haunting, and paranormal activity?” 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *