Journal Four

So its been few weeks that I have been doing my internship. This is the first time that I have been working in the market industry. it has been a great experience for me. I am learning new things everyday. I have learned where these designs are taken and what they do with it. I am working on a project that they has assigned me to do wish is related to my major as far I believe. I am currently working on a clothing tag.

So my typical day at office was that I take a train to go to work and than walk 5 mins to the building. I take the elevator to 43rd floor where the office was. As soon as I went to the desk the first thing I did was to take out the sign in/out paper so that I can write down the time before I forget. I work for few hours and in between I have a little snack and then I have my lunch by 1:15pm. Then I go back working again. I walk for 15 mins in between the time after lunch till I go home. that was my basic schedule for work days.

Journal Three

The environment of the company was a bit different than I thought. As it is a family owned business so most people at high position was related to each other. The owner was Jewish, so the environment felt more of like that. I have learned a lot about that religion in that company. The attire for this company was very formal. They work very professionally and also they are top of their time, always maintains time to time. They have given me option to dress us as casual or formal due to my pregnancy. So, when there was a meeting I have dresses up formally and when there was no meeting or anything I would just dress up casually. There was one cabin for the owner which was private room with a door, one conference room with the door for meeting, one open conference for group work, and there was one big room with 3 desk: one desk for the merchandiser, one for the senior designer and another for the junior designer. And one desk in the front for the receptionist. One open room like a rectangle shape for the accountant. Everyone worked full time from 9am-5pm. Owner and the accountant was was there at the office from 8:30am – 11am or sometimes 12pm. As I was a part time internee I had different schedule from all f them. Everyone had their lunch time by 1pm-1:30pm everyday.

Journal Two

I was at a designers position but helping Mathew was my main job. Mathew was a junior designer at sportswear. My supervisor was Esther Aabadi, who was a senior designer at the company. The senior design was a relative to the owner of Sportswear. So, my father owns a buying house here in NYC so he supplies goods at wholesale price to Sportswear company. I talked with my father if I could get a job as a designer in that company. My father talked with the owner and  I have submitted my resume, cover letter and portfolio to the company. after few days I got response and got a call from the owner for the interview. I went to the interview on 19th feb and it held at the office in Manhattan. I was interviewed by the Solly, Esther and Mathew. The interview went about 25-35 minutes. They have asked me about my interest, my future plans, how long I am going to do the internship and what I have to offer for them as a designer.