Category: Our Community (Page 1 of 2)

Introducing Myself

Hi everyone, my name is Svetlana. My pronouns are she/her, and that’s how I would like to be addressed. I’m currently majoring in human services at City Tech.  I was born in Russia and moved to New York at a very young age. I currently reside in Brooklyn with my family. Since moving to the states, I’ve only lived in NY, but I would love to experience living in other states. I enjoy reading, writing, shopping, listening to music, spending time with family, and etc. Like many other students, I began college during the pandemic. It was a very difficult and scary time, and caused a lot of additional stress on me. I’ve never done online school before, so it took me a while to get adjusted to this new normal way of attending classes.

Karma Sutra: The culture of peace, family and upbringing | Lifestyle  News,The Indian Express

The most important and meaningful thing to me is my family. I don’t feel comfortable posting a picture of my family, but this family picture is very beautiful. I love my family very much and really thankful for them. They’re very supportive and encourage me to follow my dreams. We don’t always agree on everything, but we’re accepting of each other’s thoughts or feelings.  This past year has allowed us to grow closer and spend so much more time together than we’ve ever done before.

Prologue: Premnauth Ramchan

What’s Good Everyone!?

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to read my introduction.  I am a male and would like to be acknowledged that way.  Currently, I reside in NYC Queens and Unfortunately, I say that, because I grew up in Bushwick and it was where I found my grounds of who I am. BTech is what I’m aiming for but the past two semesters, I’ve been horrible in school. I had low grades but I’m working hard to bring it back up to enter the major I want to be in. Do you ever get that feeling of being in a place that brings out your inner child? Yeah, that’s Bushwick for me. I found my style and love of creativity from my surroundings of the schools and environment I spent my years in. Growing up I wanted to be a carpenter, an artist, a biologist, and many more. But I realized what really drives me as a person which is Music. I’m not one of those typical Soundcloud rappers or anything like that. I am a musician that plays actual instruments and I love every moment of it! My favorite instrument is the drums and it makes me incredibly happy just to play it. I play the full kit and I have a 7 piece that’s in my church. I can go on and on but I’m gonna confuse you all. lol. All I want to say is, When it comes specifically to music and sounds, I take it very seriously. It’s just a souly thing yknow? Oh, and I didn’t like how I started college. All my 2020 people know that right?

This photo of my girl and I really means a lot to me. Throughout the pandemic, it’s been hard to be with some family members. I consider my girl a part of my family so it definitely was hard on an emotional level just to be with her. We’ve been through mad ups and downs but yknow what, we are still here and are 2 years 8 months strong. This photo brings out our creativity and love in designs and fashion and art! We came to “The Edge” and it was a great experience. Never will I give up on this person that never gave up on me one bit. Will always remain strong even at the hardest times!

Introduction: Maribel Matos

Hello everyone,

I hope that you are all having a wonderful start to the semester.

My name is Maribel Matos, although I do also go by Marbles or Maud depending on who’s addressing me. I personally identify with she/her/hers pronouns. I’m originally from the Dominican Republic, having moved to the United States when I was almost 3 years old. I grew up in Manhattan but moved out to Queens during the pandemic and have been enjoying the change of scenery so far. I’m majoring in Computer Information Systems, with a minor concentration in Business. The college process has been interesting so far, coming from a background where education was emphasized but not always helpfully supported by those around me. Switching to online education has been an odd experience as well, mainly due to it making things feel both more detached and altering how I have work to learn the material I’m being presented.

A picture of a reptile, specifically a bearded dragon lounging on a green hammock. He is making a sour-looking face.

Pancake the Bearded Dragon.

I’ve chosen to share a picture of my bearded dragon, Pancake, who is no longer with us. I originally met Pancake when I was in my first semester of college, and feeling really confused and lost about the direction my life was headed in. I saw him at a pet store, near 125th st. He was the only bearded dragon left for sale in the store, and I was told that he had been a bit like the runt of his clutch. His siblings had bullied him and even nibbled off one of his toes. I related to that story instantly. He wasn’t for sale when I had come in, with the store manager telling me that someone who worked for the store had already set a claim on him but was waiting for payday to officially buy him. I was told to come back on a different day when they would have more bearded dragons in the store. I showed up on the intended day, and found out that the person who planned to purchase Pancake had backed out. I immediately scooped him up and took him home. Over the next three years, Pancake was my best friend. He would walk across my laptop while I would do school assignments, give me the stink eye from his cage when he didn’t get the treats he wanted, and would fall asleep in my arms like a spoiled reptilian baby. I miss him terribly. I hope that wherever he is in lizard afterlife, that he’s being shown the royal treatment.

« Older posts