Schedule and Syllabus

Syllabus [pdf]

Schedule of class meetings, due dates, and readings:

1 Tuesday, August 28 Course Introduction, Context Film #1 My Brooklyn
2 Thursday, August 30 Context Film #2 Citizen Jane + Discussion
3 Tuesday,  September 4 Context Film #3 The Human Scale + Discussion
Thursday, September 6 Research Seminar, Review of Site Documentation Report Template, Sketch
Tuesday,  September 11 No classes scheduled; library is open 9-5
4 Thursday, September 13 Downtown Brooklyn Walking Tour #1
Tuesday,  September 18 No classes scheduled; library is open 9-5
5 Thursday, September 20 Downtown Brooklyn Walking Tour #2
6 Tuesday,  September 25 Research Seminar, Archival Research Overview
7 Thursday, September 27 New York Public Library Maps Division
8 Tuesday.  October 2 Research Seminar, Evaluation of Sources; guest lecture
9 Thursday, October 4  Brooklyn Public Library, Brooklyn Collection, Central Library
10 Tuesday,  October 9 Research Seminar: Site + Archive Findings, Emerging Themes
11 Thursday, October 11 Research Seminar, Outline Development; archives site report due
12 Tuesday,  October 16 Research Methodologies, Newspapers + Databases; archives site report 2B due
13 Thursday, October 18 Barclays Center/Atlantic Yards site research visit
14 Tuesday,  October 23 Mid-Term Presentations (Summary,Theme,Method,Outline,Bibliography)
15 Thursday, October 25 Mid-Term Presentations (Summary,Theme,Method,Outline,Bibliography)
16 Tuesday,  October 30 Final Project: Theme + Group Formation
17 Thursday, November 1 Group Work: Outline
18 Tuesday,  November 6 Research Seminar, Annotated Bibliography
19 Thursday, November 8 Group Work: Research
20 Tuesday,  November 13 Group Work: Research
21 Thursday, November 15 Group Work: Annotated Bibliography; Outline due
22 Tuesday,  November 20 Group Work: Annotated Bibliography
Thursday, November 22 No class; college is closed
23 Tuesday,  November 27 Group Work: Final Project; Annotated Bibliography due
24 Thursday, November 29 Group Work: Final Project
25 Tuesday,  December 4 Group Work: Final Project
26 Thursday, December 6 Group Work: Final Project
27 Tuesday,  December 11 Group Work: Final Project Editing
28 Thursday, December 13 Reading Day; group work optional and encouraged!
29 Tuesday,  December 18 Final Project Presentations
30 Thursday, December 20 Final Project Presentations / Wrap Up
Print this page