American Government, Alexander Sections

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Biden's Low Approval Rating

President Joe Biden’s approval rating was pretty good for the first few months of his presidency, but it’s been down around 42% for about the last half-year or so. Any thoughts on why? (Reminder: If you have access to this board, whether as a past, present, or future student of my American Government class, your thoughts are most welcome here.)

Aaron Arroyo
    Participant

I honestly think it’s simply because no one likes Biden. Back when I was in your class – I am now a proud Citytech Graduate – I’m sure you remember me espousing the idea that Biden had dementia. While I no longer hold that specific view, I do believe Biden to be incompetent. But my personal opinion the president aside, I really do think no one likes him. We have to remember that he was the candidate pushed through by the establishment democrats in order to beat Trump; the other popular choice was Mr. Bernie Sanders. From my point of view, nobody likes Biden: nobody wanted him to be president, nobody wanted to vote for him. BUT, they didn’t want Trump to be president either.
    His high approval ratings in the first few months could possibly come from the general optimism surrounding a new president, and that is completely fair and I don’t dispute high approval ratings for the first few months of any president – even if I don’t like that president. It makes sense.
    But those first few months are over, and now the hype has died down, members from all corners of the political spectrum have had a roughly a year to examine Biden’s presidency and determine if he’s done a job they approve of. According to the polls – only 42% think he’s doing a good job, the other 58% seem to think otherwise.