Standards for Network Comm.


To: Professor Viviana Vladutescu

From: Dennis Trotter Jr.

Date: October 29, 2013

Subject: Communication standards


The groups setting communication standards for the Internet are:

1)      ANSI and IEEE who set wireless standards

ANSI (American National Standards Institute) has over 1000 representatives from the government and the electronics industry and set standards for electronics and other associated fields; they ask for voluntarily compliance and have very high standards for testing.

2)      IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) promote the development and education in the electrical, electronic, and computer science fields. The host many conferences, symposiums,

3)      EIA  (Electronic Industries Alliance) is a trade organization with representatives from U.S. trade firms; they set standards for its members, help to establish ANSI standards as well as lobbying for the best electronic and computer items and introducing registration for the industry.

4)      TIA (Telecommunications Industry Association) emerged in 1988 and has combined with the United States Telecommunications Suppliers Association (US TSA). The set the standards for information technology, wireless communication, satellite, fiber optics, and telephone equipment. Their biggest input is TIA/EIA 568-B series, with establishes guidelines for installing network cable in a commercial building.

5)      ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is a collection of standards    organization from 57 countries who establish international technological standards to facilitate global exchange of information and barrier free trade.

6)      ITU (International Telecommunication Union) is a specialized United Nations agency that regulates international telecommunications, provides developing countries with technical expertise and equipment. They are the oldest standard providers formed in 1865 and joined the United Nations in 1947. They help to tackle global telecommunication issues and help to implement worldwide internet services.

7)      ISOC (Internet Society) formed in 1992, all members are professional who establish technical internet standards; such as rapid internet growth, keeping the internet accessible , information security, stable internet addressing  services, and open standards. They also oversee groups such as:

a)      IAB (Internet Architecture Board) who is a technical advisory group that oversees internet design and management.

b)      IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force) who set internet system communication standards for protocol operation and interaction. Any one can submit a standard for proposal and goes through an intensive testing, review, and approval process.

8)      IANA and ICANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority and Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers. They set the standards for assigning TCP/IP addresses on a network. ICANA took over for  IANA in 1998.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *