Faculty and Staff Portfolios

You can changes settings for your Portfolio on the Portfolio Profile page.  These might include privacy settings, changing an avatar, or changing the description or title of your Portfolio.

1. Log in and click My OpenLab in the main menu.  In the right-hand menu, click the Profile link, which appears under Portfolio Site.

Changing Portfolio Settings Screenshot

2. You will now be on your Portfolio Profile. In the right-hand menu, click Settings.

Portfolio Settings Screenshot

3. At the top of the page, you will see the portfolio settings menu.

Portfolio Edit Profile Screenshot

Edit Profile

1. Here you can change your Portfolio name and description.  After you enter your changes, be sure to click Save Changes.

2. You can also choose to change the site associated with your Portfolio. Click Unlink next to “This Portfolio is currently associated with the site My Portfolio”  and click Save Changes.

Portfolio Edit Profile Screenshot

Change Avatar

1. If you have an image file ready that you would like to use as your avatar, click Choose File.  Select the file you want to use from your computer or flash drive and then click Upload Image.

2. Crop the image by dragging the square around the portion of the image you want to use and click Crop Image.

3. You can also delete your current avatar if you wish (see image above), but we recommend you upload a new one.  If you delete your avatar, the system will automatically assign you a generic avatar.

Crop Avatar Screenshot

Privacy Settings

Profile privacy settings allow you to change the settings that control whether or not your Portfolio profile and related content and activity will be visible to the public, show up in the Portfolio directory, and/or appear in search results.

1. Go to Settings > Privacy Settings.

2. First, choose your Profile privacy settings.  These settings control the privacy of the Portfolio profile, and are different from the Portfolio Site, which you will choose next.

This is a public Portfolio:

  • This Portfolio Profile and related content and activity will be visible to anyone, whether or not they are members of the OpenLab.

  • This Portfolio Profile will be listed in the Portfolios directory, search results, or OpenLab home page.

This is a private Portfolio:

  • This Portfolio Profile, related content, and activity will only be visible only to members of your Portfolio.

  • This Portfolio profile will NOT be listed in the Portfolios directory, search results, or OpenLab home page.

  • The link to this Portfolio Profile and Site will not be publicly visible on your OpenLab Profile.

This is a hidden ePortfolio:

  • This Portfolio Profile, related content, and activity will only be visible only to members of your Portfolio.

  • This Portfolio profile will NOT be listed in the Portfolios directory, search results, or  the OpenLab home page.

  • The link to this Portfolio Profile and Site will not be publicly visible on your OpenLab Profile.

Portfolio Edit Privacy Screenshot

3. Next, choose the privacy settings for your Portfolio Site.  These settings control whether others can view your site.

Public

Allow search engines to index this site:

  • Anyone can visit your site without needing a password.

  • Search engines will index all pages and posts, meaning your site will show up in search results on Google, Bing, and others.

  • Choose this option for maximum public visibility.

Ask search engines not to index this site:

  • Visitors do not need a password to see your site if they know the URL or are linked from elsewhere, but Google, Bing and other search engines should not index your posts and pages. (Please note: it is up to search engines to honor your request.)

  • Choose this option if you want to be able to show the site to people who are not members of the OpenLab, but you don’t want people to stumble upon it via search engines.

Private

I would like my site to be visible only to registered users of City Tech OpenLab:

  • Anyone who is signed into the OpenLab can see this site.

  • Choose this option if you’d only like the OpenLab community to be able to see the site.

I would like my site to be visible to registered users I add:

  • Choose this option if you only want members of your Portfolio to be able to see the site.

I would like my site to be visible only to me:

  • No one except site admins can see the site.

  • You may choose this option if you are in the process of creating your Portfolio, but it would rarely be useful for an active Portfolio.

4. When you are finished, click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

Portfolio Edit Site Privacy Screenshot

Allowing Others to View a Private Portfolio

Any other members of the OpenLab can be added as members of your Portfolio so they can view your work even if it’s private.

Requesting Membership

1. The easiest way for someone to view your Portfolio is for them to request membership themselves. They should go to your Portfolio Profile and click Request Membership.

Portfolio Request Membership screenshot

2. Once they request membership, you will receive an email notification that they have done so.  Either click on the link in the email or go to your Portfolio Profile > Membership > Member Requests.

3. You will see them listed on the page.  Click Accept, and they will be added as a member.

Portfolio Accept Membership Screenshot

Inviting Members to Join

You can also invite members to join your Portfolio.

1. Go to Membership > Invite New Members. Start typing their name, and when you see it appear, click on their name to add them to the invite list.

2. When you are finished adding the person or people you want to invite to the list, click the Send Invites button and they’ll receive their invitation.

Portfolio Invite Members Screenshot

3. To remove someone, go to Membership and next to their name, click Remove from Group.

Portfolio Remove Members Screenshot

Delete a Portfolio

Once you delete your Portfolio, you can not get it back; you would need to create a new one.

If you are sure you want to delete it, check the box indicating that you understand the consequences of deleting this portfolio. Click Delete Portfolio.

Please note: the site associated with the Portfolio you delete will still remain.  If you would like to delete the site as well, you will need to go to the Dashboard of that site to delete the site separately.

Portfolio Delete Screenshot

Help information on site privacy courtesy of Blogs@Baruch at Baruch College, CUNY.

Tags: